Is CBD halal?
CBD has become the towns talk for quite a while love and millions of people around the world are using get to get relief from a wide range of health issues. Amid the roaring popularity of CBD, Muslims are still reluctant to use CBD because of its origin. CBD is usually sourced from cannabis sativa or marijuana which is an intoxicating drug that can produce euphoric effects. However, to know whether CBD is halal or not, we first need to know what is CBD?
What is CBD?
CBD is one of the phytocannabinoids found in the cannabis genus. Cannabis sativa and industrial hemp are the two primary sources of CBD. Different strains of cannabis sativa contain varying amounts of different cannabinoids but also offers a significant quantity of CBD along with considerable quantity of THC. THC is the main psychoactive component of marijuana which is responsible for producing the undesirable effects of the drug. Industrial hemp contains up to 40% CBD and less than 0.3 percent THC. Although the quantity of THC is quite low in industrial hemp, yet it is enough to produce slight changes in the body and also flags positively in a drug test.
Does CBD cause a high?
CBD is a safe cannabinoid as compared to tetrahydrocannabinol and cannabinol. THC and cbn are two primary psychoactive components of cannabis. They produce the characteristic psychotropic effects of cananbis. CBD on the other hand is completely non-psychoactive and does not cause any such effects on the brain. It works by interacting with the endocannabinoid system but does not directly binds to its receptors which is why it is non-addictive and non-psychoactive.
Is CBD halal?
Even though most CBD products contain less than 0.2 or 0.3 % which usually does not produce any undesirable changes. However, since THC is not permissible it would be best to avoid CBD products containing any traces of THC. People looking for Halal CBD products should always opt for CBD isolate that contain literally no traces of THC or any other cannabinoid which could be suspected to be psychoactive. According to the faith, of you are in doubt and may not know the exact components of the product, it is better to avoid it.
To make sure your CBD product is safe and halal; always check the lab tests performed by a third party lab and certificate of analysis of the product. A lab test will show the ingredients of the product and their exact quantity in the product.
Which CBD products are not halal?
Even if you go for CBD isolate with no traces of THC, you can still not use all CBD products. CBD edibles such as gummies are made with gelatine that is also impermissible and not halal. Just like CBD gummies, CBD capsules also contain gelatine and should not be consumed if you want to use halal products. Vape and cartridges containing nicotine are not halal but since CBD vape do not contain such euphoric compounds, they could be considered halal. However, it’s better to avoid it if you are in doubt.